2010 ICPC Challenge

The 2010 ICPC Contest featured the second offering of the ICPC Challenge. In the weeks leading up to the finals, world finals teams were able to download the problem, upload their player code and compete with each other in preliminary matches. At the world finals, we ran a double elimination tournament to determine which teams had written the best players.

Problem Overview

The 2010 ICPC Challenge problem was influenced by the February weather in Harbin, China; it was a game called IcyPC. Two players each control a group of four children in a snow-covered field. Player score points by building snowmen in strategic locations and by pelting members of the opposing team with snowballs. The game introduction video is an xvid-encoded file showing some of the basic moves in the game.

Problem Binary

If you'd like to try out the 2010 ICPC Challenge problem yourself, the distribution binary is still available. It contains everything you need to try out the game and to get started writing a player of your own.

2010 ICPC Challenge Tournament

The following teams took the top four places in the final tournament.

First PlaceUniversity of Canterbury
Second PlaceBeijing Jiaotong University
Third PlaceInstituto de Matemática e Estatística da Universidade de São Paulo
Fourth PlaceSaratov State University

2010 ICPC World Finals Tournament

The following image shows the double elimination tree used to determine the winner of the 2010 ICPC Challenge tournament. You can click on individual matches to view or download an xvid-encoded avi file showing the match.

Preliminary Standings

The coding phase for the 2010 ICPC Challenge ran for two weeks in January. At the end of each day, we ran matches between the latest versions of submitted players. Each player was matched with three randomly selected opponents, and the following table reports the number of these matches won by each team. The rankings from these preliminary matches didn't directly contribute to the final results, but teams with a better ranking were given a bye in the first round of the tournament. Here's what they looked like at the end of the second-to-last coding day.

CompetitorWin Count
University of Canterbury26
Zhejiang University21
Sharif University of Technology17
Bangladesh University of Engineering and Technology13
Petrozavodsk State University13
Friedrich-Alexander-University Erlangen-Nuremberg12
University of Tokyo9
St. Petersburg State University8
Novosibirsk State University7
The University of Western Australia7
Saratov State University6
Shanghai Jiaotong University6
Beijing Jiaotong University3
Instituto de Matemática e Estatística da Universidade de São Paulo2
University of Kentucky1
University of Maryland0
University of Rochester0