History - ICPC 1999

The 1999 World Champions:
University of Waterloo


From a field of over 1,900 teams in intercollegiate competitions worldwide sixty-two teams of students advanced to the World Finals of The ACM International Collegiate Programming Contest sponsored by IBM. The 1999 ACM World Finals was held at Eindhoven University of Technology (TUE), The Netherlands, on April 8-12, 1999. Prizes, scholarships, and bragging rights were at stake for some of the finest students from universities and colleges worldwide.
Of the teams in competition, over 450 teams competed in intercollegiate contests in Asia and Europe for the chance to advance to the ACM-ICPC regionals.  Then, 1,457 teams competing at 63 sites in twenty-five ACM-ICPC regional contests held throughout the world.  These teams represented 839 universities from 59 countries on six continents.
University of Waterloo
  • Gordon Cormack, Coach
  • Ondrej Lhotak, Contestant
  • Viet-Trung Luu, Contestant
  • David Kennedy, Contestant
  • Donny Cheung, Reserve
Last modified on 15:00 PM Aug 06, 2013